Hurricane

Canadian Space Agency supports Caribbean Satellite Disaster Pilot

The Canadian Space Agency, in close cooperation with the Committee on

English

Publishing Date: 

Wed, 17/10/2012 - 08:37

Country/Region: 

Wed, 10/17/2012

NASA satellites show "hot towers" of Hurricane Isaac

Two hours before Hurricane Isaac made landfall on 28 August 2012, a satellite orbiting hundreds of miles above the storm used a radar instrument to map its inner structure. The instrument on the Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM) observed two extremely tall complexes of thunderheads called hot towers in the eyewall, a sign that the storm was strengthening.

English

Publishing Date: 

Mon, 17/09/2012 - 11:10

Free tagging: 

Mon, 09/17/2012

NASA captures storm Leslie and hurricane Michael

Satellite images from two NASA satellites were combined to create a full picture of Tropical Storm Leslie and Hurricane Michael spinning in the Atlantic Ocean. Imagery from Aqua and Terra satellites showed Leslie now past Bermuda and Michael in the north central Atlantic, and Leslie is much larger than the smaller, more powerful Michael.

English

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 11/09/2012 - 15:35
Tue, 09/11/2012

International Charter activated for floods in USA

Hurricane Isaac at Night

On 31 August 2012, the United States Geological Survey (USGS) activated the International Charter: Space and Major Disasters on behalf of the Federal

English

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 04/09/2012 - 08:42
Tue, 09/04/2012

Tropical Storm Isaac: Esri offers tracking map

Esri offers a free interactive map for tracking Isaac, a Tropical Storm rolling over the Gulf of Mexico on the verge of becoming a hurricane. The map was built using the ArcGIS API for JavaScript and is powered by ArcGIS Server.

English

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 28/08/2012 - 15:10
Tue, 08/28/2012

Mobile applications for hurricane emergencies

On 1 August, The American Red Cross launched a free iPhone and Android application, the “Hurricane App”. It includes features such as emergency checklists, weather updates, shelter locaters and a flashlight.

English

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 07/08/2012 - 15:14
Tue, 08/07/2012

NASA analyzes twin hurricanes Emilia and Daniel

NASA's TRMM satellite passed over the hurricanes that are passing over the Eastern Pacific Ocean: Emilia and Daniel. In pinpointed the intensity of the rainfall within each storm, the data reveals their power. Emilia is dropping rain at a greater rate than Daniel according to satellite data.

English

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 10/07/2012 - 09:03
Tue, 07/10/2012

NASA Satellite Sees Birth of Tropical Storm Debby

As tropical cyclone Debby-12 is approaching Florida, the state of emergency was declared yesterday, 25 June 2012.

English

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 26/06/2012 - 12:39
Tue, 06/26/2012

Satellites to support NASA's hurricane research

NASA contracted the Spanish HISPASAT Group, to which the Spanish satellite telecommunications operator HISPASAT and the Brazilian operator HISPAMAR both belong, to provide

English

Publishing Date: 

Mon, 25/06/2012 - 17:28

Free tagging: 

Mon, 06/25/2012

NOAA Announces Modification to Hurricane Scale

Effective on May 15, 2012, the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is making a modification to the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale, which is being used as a standard to measure hurricane intensity. The change broadens the Category 4 wind speed range by one mile per hour (mph) at each end of the range, yielding a new range of 130-156 mph.

English

Publishing Date: 

Mon, 26/03/2012 - 08:48

Free tagging: 

Mon, 03/26/2012

Pages

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.