floods

Flood map of Pakistan via Charter released

On 18 September 2012, the International Charter: Space and Major Disasters was activated for floods in Pakistan. Torrential rain, which began on 5 September, had caused flash floods in Pakistan leaving an estimated one million people homeless.

English

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 25/09/2012 - 15:06

Country/Region: 

Tue, 09/25/2012

International Charter activated for floods in Cameroon

The International Charter Space and Major Disasters was activated for floods on Thursday 6 September 2012 in the region of Maga, Mayo-Danay, Cameroon. The Charter was activated by the United States Geological Survey (USGS) on behalf of Civil Protection Directorate, Cameroon.

English

Publishing Date: 

Fri, 07/09/2012 - 16:19

Country/Region: 

Fri, 09/07/2012

International Charter activated for floods in USA

Hurricane Isaac at Night

On 31 August 2012, the United States Geological Survey (USGS) activated the International Charter: Space and Major Disasters on behalf of the Federal

English

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 04/09/2012 - 08:42
Tue, 09/04/2012

IGAC researches application of satellite imagery for flooded areas

The Agustin Codazzi Geographic Institute (IGAC), host of UN-SPIDER's Regional Support Office in Colombia, conducted a case study to identify flooded areas in Colombia during the maximum rainfall period of the years 2010-2012.

English

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 04/09/2012 - 07:54

Country/Region: 

Tue, 09/04/2012

International Charter activated for floods in three Western African countries

The International Charter: Space and Major Disasters has been activated three times in the past two days to provide satellite imagery and maps regarding floods in Niger, Senegal and Nigeria. West African nations experience torrential rains during their annual rain season, but this season has been reported as the worst in 50 years.

English

Publishing Date: 

Wed, 29/08/2012 - 16:16

Country/Region: 

Wed, 08/29/2012

International Charter activated for floods in Senegal

The International Charter Space and Major Disasters was activated on Sunday 26 of August 2012 in the region of Diourbel, Senegal. The charter was activated by UNITAR/UNOSAT on behalf of UNOCHA-ROWCA.

English

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 28/08/2012 - 09:24

Country/Region: 

Tue, 08/28/2012

Myanmar Fire Service Department

Fire is the most frequent

Undefined

Guide Type: 

Country/Region: 

Crowdsourcing community responds to Philippine floods

Google's Crisis Response Team launched a resource page for the

English

Publishing Date: 

Fri, 10/08/2012 - 08:58

Country/Region: 

Fri, 08/10/2012

Caribbean: Flood Risk Reduction System Developed

The member states of the Caribbean

English

Publishing Date: 

Thu, 19/07/2012 - 16:45
Thu, 07/19/2012

Climate change may lead to more violent thunderstorms

Researchers are working to identify exactly how a changing climate will impact specific elements of weather, such as clouds, rainfall, and lightning. A Tel Aviv University researcher has predicted that for every one degree of warming, there will be approximately a 10 percent increase in lightning activity.

English

Publishing Date: 

Wed, 11/07/2012 - 09:14
Wed, 07/11/2012

Pages

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.