Japan

ADRC co-organizes Asian Conference on Disaster Reduction 2013

UN-SPIDER's Regional Support Office, the Asian

English

Publishing Date: 

Thu, 31/01/2013 - 14:33

Country/Region: 

latitude: 

35

longitude: 

135
Thu, 01/31/2013

Japan to host World Conference on Disaster Risk Reduction

The UN General Assembly confirmed that Japan will host the Third World Conference on

English

Publishing Date: 

Mon, 10/12/2012 - 16:26

Country/Region: 

Mon, 12/10/2012

UNOOSA holds Nano-Satellite Symposium in Japan

The United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA) in cooperation with the University of Tokyo held the United Nations/Japan Nano-Satellite Symposium in Nagoya, Japan, from 10 to 13 October 2012 as part of the activities of the Basic Space Technology Initiative (BSTI) of UNOOSA. In total more than 300 participants from approximately 40 countries participated in the Symposium.

English

Publishing Date: 

Mon, 29/10/2012 - 08:01

Country/Region: 

Mon, 10/29/2012

Learning from Megadisasters: World Bank and Japan release Study

On March 11, 2011, a devastating earthquake and subsequent tsunami hit Japan. Now the World Bank and the Government of Japan have launched a joint knowledge-sharing project called "Learning from Megadisasters". In the framework of this project, a study containing 32 thematic Knowledge Notes were published last week. They include six thematic clusters:

English

Publishing Date: 

Thu, 11/10/2012 - 08:30

Country/Region: 

Thu, 10/11/2012

ADRC: Booklet on space-based information for Tsunami Assessment

UN-SPIDER's Regional Support Office located in Japan, ADRC (Asian

English

Publishing Date: 

Mon, 03/09/2012 - 10:17
Mon, 09/03/2012

ADRC: Cooperative project for the Hyogo Framework for Action

The Asian

English

Country/Region: 

Publishing Date: 

Mon, 07/05/2012 - 09:44
Mon, 05/07/2012

UN kicks off talks on new blueprint for disaster risk reduction

The United Nations

English

Country/Region: 

Publishing Date: 

Thu, 08/03/2012 - 11:42

latitude: 

36

longitude: 

138
Thu, 03/08/2012

DOCOMO Eyes Completion of New Disaster-preparedness Measures

NTT DOCOMO, INC., Japan’s leading mobile operator and provider of integrated services centered on mobility, announced today that it has nearly completed implementation of a wide range of

English

Country/Region: 

Publishing Date: 

Fri, 24/02/2012 - 16:20

latitude: 

36

longitude: 

140
Fri, 02/24/2012

Spaceborne Precipitation Radar Ships from Japan to U.S.

Japanese scientists and engineers have completed construction on a new instrument designed to take 3-D measurements of the shapes, sizes and other physical characteristics of both raindrops and snowflakes. The instrument will be shipped from Japan to NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md., to be integrated into an upcoming NASA Earth science satellite.

English

Country/Region: 

Publishing Date: 

Wed, 15/02/2012 - 16:04

latitude: 

36

longitude: 

138
Wed, 02/15/2012

Expert proposes better use of satellites for disaster management

Japan: Norihiro Sakamoto proposed a plan to make better use of existing satellites so that they could make quicker tsunami forecasts. This would involve using a quasi-zenith satellite system, whereby a satellite is always located near Japan's zenith, so that there is a continuous link with offshore tsunami observation devices.

English

Country/Region: 

Free tagging: 

Publishing Date: 

Tue, 07/02/2012 - 15:16

latitude: 

36

longitude: 

138
Tue, 02/07/2012

Pages

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.