Tropical Cyclone in Fiji

At least three people were believed dead after Cyclone Mick swept over Fiji's main island of Viti Levu, causing widespread flooding and damage, police said. Up to 700 people spent Monday night in evacuation centres due to flooding in low-lying areas.

Source: www.glidenumber.net

 

Available Space-based Information for: Fiji – Tropical Cyclone Mick – Date 14 December 2009
 

Status Update: 15 December 2009
 

UNOOSA/UN-SPIDER:

Focal Point: Shirish Ravan ( spaceaid (at) unoosa.org )
Link: http://www.un-spider.org/

 

ReliefWeb:
Available maps: http://www.reliefweb.int/rw/dbc.nsf/doc104?OpenForm&rc=5&cc=fji
 

International Charter:

Activated: 14 December 2009
Project Manager: François Boubila,
Email : Francois.Boubila@esa.int
Charter Requestor : UN Office for Outer Space Affairs
Link: http://www.disasterscharter.org/web/charter/activation_details?p_r_p_141...
Pacific Disaster Net (SOPAC):
Link: http://pdn.appspot.com/CycloneMick/

 

NASA: Earth Observatory
Link: http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/NaturalHazards/view.php?id=41626
 

National Contact Points
Aisea Quminakelo
NDMO. Suva, Fiji
email: aisea.quminakelo@govnet.gov.fj)

 

SOPAC Contact Points

Wolf Forstreuter
Phone: +679-3381377 ext. 237 (SOPAC)
Phone: +679-3322193 (home) +679-9272462 (mobile in FJ)
e-mail: wforstreuter@yahoo.co.uk
Skype: wolfforstreuter

Litea Buikoto
E-mail liteab@gmail.com
Litea Biukoto <litea@sopac.org>
 

Jutta May
E-mail jmay4711@gmail.com
Jutta May <jutta@sopac.org>

 

OCHA Contact Point
Peter Muller
Email: Peter.Muller@undp.org
 

 

Other Space-based Information:

GDACS:
Link: http://www.gdacs.org/index.asp

NASA Earth Observatory:
Link: http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/NaturalHazards/

Tropical Storm Risk: Forecast:
Link: http://www.tropicalstormrisk.com/
 

Situation Reports:

Government of Fijji
Situation reports
Link: http://www.reliefweb.int/rw/srch.nsf/doc304SearchResults?OpenForm&view=rwrwb&srcid=Govt.%20Fiji&cc=fji

Other Links:

Reliefweb:
Link: http://www.reliefweb.int/rw/dbc.nsf/doc103?OpenForm&rc=3#show


 

 

Disaster Information
Name: 
Tropical Cyclone
Region: 
Fiji
Occurance Date: 
14/12/2009
latitude: 
-16.697
longitude: 
179.354